A garden is the best alternative therapy.

I would be remiss if I didn’t include some of the many photographs I snapped of the variety of wildflowers we discovered on our hikes:

Aspens and Lupines

Aspens and Lupines

Purple Rocky Mountain Thistle

Purple Rocky Mountain Thistle

emerging Columbine

emerging Columbine

lupine with mulesear

lupine with mulesear

pink lupines

pink lupines

Mulesear surrounded by lupines

Mulesear surrounded by lupines

tall chiming bells

tall chiming bells

mariposa lily

mariposa lily

columbines and golden banners

columbines and golden banners

I think this is a variety of coneflower

I think this is a variety of coneflower

sierra fumewort

sierra fumewort

larkspur (not the best specimen, but the only one I saw)

larkspur (not the best specimen, but the only one I saw)

field of mulesear at 9500 ft

field of mulesear at 9500 ft

Richard's geranium

Richard's geranium

white peavine

white peavine

blue flax

blue flax

Common Dandelion

Common Dandelion

golden banner

golden banner

globeflower with bee

globeflower with bee

How could I forget the falls?  This was found on the south side of East Beckwith and caused by mountain snow runoff.

How could I forget the falls? This was found on the south side of East Beckwith and caused by mountain snow runoff.

Comments on: "Celebrating National Parks Pt. 2: Wildflowers of Colorado" (6)

  1. Thanks for showing us some of Colorado’s amazing wildflower display. I particularly love the mulesear with lupines.

  2. roundrockgarden said:

    I was able to send all of these pictures of the wildflowers to my grandmother right before she passed away. She and grandfather used to travel out to Colorado every year until they got too old to make the long drive from Illinois.

    She loved the flowers out there. Her last letter to me said “thank you for bringing back memories of the wildflowers … those days are gone now” – makes me tear up just thinking about it, but I’m glad I could take her back to a special time in her life.

    I know if I never get back to Colorado again, these pictures will always remind me of how overwhelmingly beautiful it is there, how tiny we really are, and how big heaven truly is.

  3. You certainly were there at the right time to see all the wildflowers. I wish we could have been there earlier but even in early July I thought the flowers were pretty fabulous. They were later I think because of all the snow. Beautiful shots of some amazing scenery.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks, Jenny. It was truly awe-inspiring. The funny thing is, these pictures were all taken between July 5-11 – about the time you went as well. I guess we lucked out with all the flowers! I think the camp host told us that the melt came a little later last year, which is why the wildflowers were still blooming so much.

  4. I guess the real beauty is definitely out there… in the wild, not necessarily within the confinement of our own garden. Thanks for sharing. ~bangchik

  5. […] Joseph of A Round Rock Garden visits Black Canyon and proposes to his fiancee along the way; he also stops to admire the Colorado wildflowers. […]

Leave a comment