A garden is the best alternative therapy.

The veggie garden seems like it has grown by leaps and bounds the past couple of weeks.  Here is a shot taken two weeks ago, followed by a recent shot:

Image uploaded 4.5.11

Two weeks later ...

That’s what a few batches of compost tea will do!

The zucchini (upper right of the bed) is already producing.  The flowers are always so large and beautiful.  The bees love them, too.

zucchini flower

... turns into zucchini!

As you can see by the first two photos, everything has grown.  Check out the tomatoes (top two plants on left side of bed), now flowering and hopefully soon producing:

celebrity tomato bush

early girl tomato bush

Or the yellow squash (second from top, center row):

yellow crookneck squash

The cantaloupe vines are reaching out a couple feet in every direction (second plant from bottom on right row) …

cantaloupe

And the peppers…

habanero

bell pepper

The slowest growing plant has been the watermelon and it was planted a couple weeks after the others (the first plant died).  It is finally starting to grow more, too:

watermelon

And my flowers get compost tea, too.  The gauras are just going crazy right now and the Indigo Spires salvia is starting to bloom!

Comments on: "What Compost Tea Does to a Veggie Garden" (12)

  1. Pat and I just discovered compost tea this year. Why didn’t we know about it sooner??? Our tomatoes are doing about as well as yours are and we do have a couple of tomatoes starting already! Our squash and cucumbers are behind yours, but we didn’t plant them until a couple of weeks ago. Your garden is growing well despite the lack of rainfall! I do believe compost tea is a garden life-saver!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      CT has become all the rage the past few years. Are you aerating yours? I like to add other fertilizers to it to enrich it even more (liquid seaweed, fish emulsion, bat guano, hormones and B-vitamins).

      Thanks, Cindy – I have to water the garden frequently with no rain. I hate using city water, but we’ve had absolutely no rain water to collect and I don’t always think ahead to aerate my city water!

      • Thanks for the tip about adding fish emulsion! Do you use an air pump to aerate your tea? I’ve seen that method. Right now, we just stir it when we think about it, then use it on the plants. We do draw city water and let it sit for about 24 hours before making tea. We’re planning to buy some 50 gallon rain buckets so we can catch more water off our shop roof. It’s pretty large and we’re able to catch at least 3 or 4 gallons off of a steady drizzle. I was amazed.

        I know what you mean about rain…still praying for us both and the State of Texas!!

      • roundrockgarden said:

        Yes, a little fish emulsion, liquid seaweed and just a tad of Superthrive. I do make aerated tea – it’s very easy and costs less than $25 to put together. This is how I put mine together (click here). And here is the final result (click here), all bubbly and frothy with billions of beneficial bacteria and fungi spores. Good luck collecting that rain water! I’d do the same if we’d just get some rain. I hold mine over in large sterilyte bins … the barrel would certainly be a better idea!

  2. Wowsa, you’ve convinced me! I better get down to the Natural Gardener for a couple of jugs this weekend! I hear fish emulsion and molasses do wonders for veggies as well.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Check out my organic fertilizers page for a recipe that you can use to make on your own for less than $25 – much cheaper than the jugs you can buy at the nursery and full of living, active microorganisms. I brew up five gallons at a time on the cheap.

      During brewing, I add molasses as a food for beneficial organisms as well as a cup of bat guano wrapped in cheesecloth. After brewing is finished, I add a few tablespoons of fish emulsion, Superthrive (hormones and B-vitamins) and about half a cup of liquid seaweed.

  3. amazing the growth shown there. I am using compost tea this year as well. i am using Haven brand moo poo tea since i do not have a compost pile. I have used it on our seedlings and they are responding well too. Good stuff!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      It works wonders! I don’t personally use my own compost, but a premium compost that I buy at the nursery. Just about a quart of compost makes five gallons of tea, which can be diluted to twenty gallons if I want! More economical, too! Happy gardening!

  4. Wow! Not sure I’ll get around to making compost tea myself but I will certainly check out your brew. Looks like you’ll be eating good this summer!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Hey, we’ve pulled off two zukes and a squash so far, which is already better than we’ve done the past two season growing them! ; )

  5. Wow! Amazing results just in two weeks! That is AWESOME! Also, the grass around the bed has grown too!

Leave a Reply

