A garden is the best alternative therapy.

Garden Life at Morning Light

I spent some time Saturday and Sunday mornings photographing our garden’s visitors.  The Honey Bees and Bumble Bees were very active this weekend, while the Monarch cats were busy munching almost all day long.  Here they are with a few other guests (click on any pic to view a larger, more detailed photo):

Honey bee on Indigo Spires salvia

Monarch caterpillar munching on Butterfly Weed

Monarch caterpillar on milkweed

Honey bee on Whirling Butterflies gaura

Grasshoppers "playing piggyback"

Monarch caterpillar resting on underside of milkweed leaf

Serphid fly nectaring on milkweed flower

Green Anole catching some rays

Monarch caterpillar looking for breakfast

Bumble Bee on Indigo Spires salvia - disturbing something else!

Quarter-sized green Lynx Spider - yes they do kill and eat Bumble Bees

Comments on: "Garden Life at Morning Light" (7)

  1. Beautiful photos! My indigo spires is full of bumble bees, too. I think I counted around 10 or so the other day on it at the same time.
    Also, I’m glad to know about Wild Seed Farms from your earlier post. I ordered seeds the other day from them and I have already received them.
    We sure are having great weather today!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      That’s great, Amy! I received mine yesterday. They were very quick! The catalog looks like it will be helpful as far as sowing the seeds. I prepared the bed this past weekend and I’m going to let it sit for a couple of weeks before I sow them – probably mid-October or so. I’d love to get my hands on some Blackfoot Daisy seeds, but can’t seem to find them anywhere? Do you know of any place that sells them?

      I’m happy about your bumble bees! Have you started seeing more honey bees lately?

      And yes … the weather is awesome! Too bad I’m stuck inside working most of the day …

      • I have blackfoot daisies. They are even growing in our open space. I would be happy to send you some seeds. Do you have any of your maximilian sunflower seeds? Maybe, we could trade.

      • roundrockgarden said:

        That’s sweet of you to offer! Let me check to see what I’ve got. I think the packet says it will cover 20 sq. ft. and my plans were for less than that. I’ll drop you a line later…

      • Oh, no don’t use your new seed packet. Any you have in your garden would be great. Thanks!

  2. What great shots! I have so much trouble getting any good bee shots. Your’s are great.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      I probably took fifty shots and only got a handful that turned out not-so-blurry! They’re too fast! But, thank you!

Leave a Reply

