A garden is the best alternative therapy.

We recently returned from an exciting and fun-filled family vacation in the West Elk Wilderness, near Crested Butte, the “Wildflower Capitol” of Colorado.  While I’m still sorting through hundreds of photos, here are several taken of wildflowers we discovered on our hikes.  Trees and mountains to follow soon …

An alpine meadow isn't complete without lupines

Richard's Geraniums

This was similar to blue Tall Chiming Bells we saw everywhere ...

This appeared to be some type of wild rose

Blue flax

Columbines growing up through the dry branches of a fallen tree

Asters were very common

Beautiful, delicate, elegant columbine

Mulesear

This should be a Motivational Poster for "Perseverance"

Columbine and Lupines

Comments on: "Truly Wildflowers of Colorado" (11)

  1. What an amazing array of wildflowers. I am afraid I would never come back to Texas if I vacationed in Colorado! Did you drive or fly?

    • roundrockgarden said:

      oh…we drove … all twenty hours of it! and no, i didn’t want to come back either!

  2. What a beautiful collection of wildflower pictures. I do have a soft spot for wildflowers and especially love red flax. I must try the blue flax now after seeing your picture 🙂

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks, Noelle! The blue flax is pretty stunning, especially when it’s amongst the yellow mulesear!

  3. The photos are amazing and I can only imagaine the scenery. Can you imagaine having a lot of these flowers in your back yard as you sit out on the deck and watch them sway in the nice cool breeze. Oh where am I. We are in the sweltering Texas heat, just trying to get the plants we do have to survive. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      You won’t have to imagine for long – I’ll have some great shots of scenery in a couple of days! I can TOTALLY imagine all of these flowers growing in my back yard, and while I’m at it, I’ll imagine that I’m living in Colorado, too! It’s so beautiful!

      Ah, but it’s time to return to reality … sweltering heat! Ugh!

  4. Wide range of wild flowers. I love that little flower growing on the rock. Resilient!
    ~bangchik

  5. What a great time to go to Colorado. We used to live in Highlands Ranch, close to Denver. Your photos are pReTtY and I bet you had a great time enjoying the cooler weather. I love columbines!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      It was a beautiful trip. The third week of July is supposed to be the peak of wildflower season, and we enjoy going to Crested Butte – the “wildflower capitol” of Colorado to take them all in!

  6. Your family and mine were in CO at the same time, it seems like. I’m only just beginning to process my photos — time to make some more progress! Colorado has such gorgeous wildflowers — and it seems like almost all of them have some sort of pollinator on them all at the same time!

Leave a Reply

