A garden is the best alternative therapy.

A Curious Visitor

While I was working in the garden today, a green anole lizard stopped by to say hello.  He was sunning himself on the watering hose reel, and we actually had a little game going for awhile.  He jumped down onto the hose, which I so happened to need to use.  I pulled it out slowly as he came along for the ride.  Then, he’d run back along the outstretched hose to the hose reel.  I kept on pulling the hose out slowly and he’d ride along and run back.  He did this several times before he finally just held on and rode the hose around the reel a few times.  Then he came back out for some pictures.  He wasn’t shy at all.  In fact, I think he was kind of showing off.   These pics look best full-size so you can really see the detail – click on the photo to view.

Ah, but all of this entertainment and puffery wasn’t for me, it seems.  Along the back side of the reel was another anole in a brown phase.  I don’t know if she was interested in his antics or not, but she was pretty wary of me.  She only let me get one or two good shots in before she took off out of view.

This is one beneficial creature to have in your garden because it eats a wide range of insects.

Comments on: "A Curious Visitor" (13)

  1. Very cool! Never seen a lizard like that before, and what luck to have one so distracted that he doesn’t run away? Great pics.

  2. Great shots! The anoles around my place are very camera shy. They are such a welcome addition to the garden–and the puffery is so much fun to watch.

    • Fantastic pics! I’ve seen male green anoles with their pink dewlaps, but I usually can’t find the females they are showing off for. Such fun!

  3. I wish I wish we had those in the UK – fabulous photos of a wonderful creature

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks y’all for the comments.

      Town Mouse, I was very pleased that this one didn’t run away – they usually do. Yes, thankfully, he was showing off!

      Jenny, I find myself enjoying any bit of wildlife I can find! As long as I can remember, I’ve been that way. I can remember waiting for the bus in the morning, turning over large rocks to see what sort of life I’d find underneath!

      Meredith, I LOVE what you’re doing with your outdoor wildlife lab! What a great way and FUN way to teach kids about Texas natives and preserving and caring for them. Kids love any activity outside of the classroom, so I can imagine they love it! It looks like I’m trying to grow many of the same things!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thank you, Laura. Lizards are very common down here. I grew up in Illinois and never once saw a lizard or gecko. When I moved to Texas, however, I found them everywhere! The geckos are far more camera shy, but the green anoles are a bit more animated – especially the males!

  4. Quick question, since we are in the same planting zone, I was wondering what dates do you use for last fall and last spring planting times. I have been seeing all different kind of numbers on the web. I still look at the weather forcast, but was wondering what others use? Thanks.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Hiya Cynthia! If you are looking at last/first frost dates for our area, I use the little tool at Dave’s Garden. Click here to enter in your zip code and get those dates. The tool there at Dave’s Garden was fairly accurate this year.

      Also, I posted a blog in early March that had several resources for planting dates for central Texas. The tool I use more frequently than anything else is the Aggie Planting Chart for Travis County (PDF file). I was just looking at it yesterday planning some fall crops. I’ll have to start peppers and tomatoes soon to put out for fall – even before my summer crop is producing! I put my order in yesterday for seeds and, hopefully, can get them sown before the end of the month. That gives me six weeks of growing time through the middle of July before putting them out. Most take 65-75 days to mature once transplanted, so they should be producing by October. That should give me two months to harvest before that first freeze kicks in.

      • Thanks for the information, I re-read the post (I knew I remembered you posting something about it). I am going to try to grow a lot of things from seed the next few seasons to really see if I can do it. So all the packets and the classes I have attended (mostly in Austin and we have slightly different temps than Austin sometimes) tell me multiple things. I know that there will be fluctuations, but I wanted a date that more represented our zone. The Dave’s Garden helped a lot, based on the research I did. Yes can’t wait for the Agapanthus to pop open. Thanks again for your help.

  5. Aren’t they just a delight to watch. Such friendly little things with a desire to be photographed. What is it about the other lizards, scurrying down the path at 50 MPH. Don’t they know I’m not s snake in the grass.

  6. Amazing. Where in Texas are you located?

  7. rmmercer said:

    I absolutely love the photo with the male lizard looking at you! I had never seen them so yellow. Thanks for sharing your garden! How funny… you are a photographer taking pictures of a lizard when it sounds like you had a lizard taking photos of you back in December.

    RM

Leave a Reply

