A garden is the best alternative therapy.

This is the first year I have planted wildflowers, so it has been exciting as we have watched these unknown plants grow and finally produce an identifiable flower!  A couple of weeks ago, I posted a picture of a flower bud that was forming in the flower bed.  I thought that it was a coneflower, but as it turns out, it is not a coneflower.  It’s a Mexican Hat!  Que es emocionante!   Almost in time for Cinco de Mayo!  Enter the dancing hats:

I have dozens more hats preparing to bloom in the bed.  The cornflowers are still going strong, but the poppies are almost done.  Most of them have died, stalk and all by now.  The primrose has quieted down as well.  I’m really curious as to what the next wave of flowers will be.  Right now, there are many very tall plants that have a dozen or so buds on the top of each.  The fence around our property is five feet.  Some of them have now exceeded that height, which is just astonishing to me.  I am 5′ 10″ and I’m almost looking at them eye-to-bud.  🙂

Meanwhile, on the other side of the yard, there are new Black Swallowtail eggs on the fennel.  AND, there are at least a handful of little caterpillars!  If you weren’t looking for them, you wouldn’t see them.  They kind of look like little turds.  🙂  The smallest are about the size of a piece of long-grain rice.

Comments on: "Next Wave of Blooms in the Wildflower Bed" (13)

  1. I’ve never seen this type of hats! Interesting blooms… The 4th picture is very “countrysidish” if such word exists. I like it!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      I think that’s a great word, I use it all of the time! 😛 I’m glad it comes off that way, because that’s kinda what I was going for. Thanks for stopping by again.

  2. That’s great news! Maybe next year I’ll graduate from growing native annuals in pots (and transplanting them) to trying the ground sowing again.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      I’m going to try planting even more of them next year! I think they’ll do even better along the south fenceline.

  3. Beautiful–butterflies and flowers. Where did you get your fennel? I have been looking for it, and can’t find any.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Jenny, I picked up the fennel a couple of months ago as soon as I saw nurseries carrying them. I haven’t looked lately, but I want to say I saw some at HEB recently.

  4. Wow…your wildflower garden is really growing and looking very pretty! I love the Mexican Hats.
    That caterpillar is the size of long grain rice…great close-up. I’m going to check out your organic fertilizer tab for info. Thanks!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks – I had no idea when I sowed the seeds that some of them would exceed five feet tall!

  5. I’m admiring your beautiful wildflowers too – they certainly are tall!
    You know, your recent post of the Black Swallowtail laying her eggs helped me spot a butterfly laying eggs in my own garden. Only for me it was a cabbage white laying eggs on my poor little rocket seedlings 😦 Never mind, it was still an amazing thing to see!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Oh no, save your arrugula! 🙂 The bugs are out in full force this year. We have a lot of caterpillars – some good and some I’d rather not have!

  6. Your wildflower garden has really done well. Those tall plants are Coreopsis tinctoria. Watch out for them. They will be growing everywhere next year. They are a joy to have in the late May garden but they do become rather prolific in succeeding years. Lucky you with all those swallowtail caterpillars. I only have parsley for them and so far no nibbling.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      They opened up yesterday and I thought they were tiny blanket flowers (they sorta look like ’em!), but you are right – they’re coreopsis. That’s funny, because they’re not even listed on the wildflower seed package! An added bonus?! At any rate, they look pretty. I hope they withstand all of the strong winds today and tomorrow. Thanks for the advice, I’ll keep an eye on them after they flower.

  7. Your garden is looking wild with wildflowers! So beautiful- we aren’t there yet here in Seattle- just tulips and Iris, so not in full swing yet, but your post was a great preview!

Leave a Reply

