A garden is the best alternative therapy.

One of these things is not like the other ...

Comments on: "Wordless Wednesday: Just Hangin’ Out" (12)

  1. I see it! Took me a few moments of intense looking, but now I see it.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      He tried his best to hide, didn’t he? “QUICK! Go stiff like a twig!”

  2. i saw it too. what plant is that?

    • roundrockgarden said:

      That is spearmint – I’m sure he tastes nice and minty. Do you dare me to try? LOL

  3. Oh wow, you really have to look hard to see it, don’t you?

  4. I planted spearmint and had enough for the whole neighborhood. I finally had to put cardboard over it and mulch on top. It was in an open bed near our open space….mistake!
    Also, I don’t really understand this pick system on Blotanical….

    • roundrockgarden said:

      HA! Yeah, I can relate. I’ve got a jungle of it in the corner of the yard. So far, it is contained! 🙂

      Yeah, I don’t know what’s going on with the pick system. I know they’re updating it, but I miss seeing the “popular” picks.

  5. It took me a minute to see him too – and now he seems so obvious!
    Do you know what sort he is?

    • roundrockgarden said:

      I found his droppings first. I checked around and didn’t see him at all. I had to sit back on my heels and just stare for a second, then I spotted him. I assume he took this posture to hide when he felt me looking through the plant for him. He is a cabbage looper (yeah, they love mint, too). The adult cabbage looper moth is not attractive at all:

      • Thanks very much for that, I’m learning as much about butterflies and moths as I can, both from Australia and around the world, so it’s great to see what your little mint eater is going to grow into! He (the caterpillar) looks quite like one I found on my raspberry plant, which I think will grow into a cabbage white.

      • roundrockgarden said:

        Thanks for reading! Sounds like you and I both are trying to learn as much as we can about our butterfly friends.

Leave a Reply

