A garden is the best alternative therapy.

Lavender and the Bees

Poem 111 – Emily Dickinson

The bee is not afraid of me,
I know the butterfly;
The pretty people in the woods
Receive me cordially.

The brooks laugh louder when I come,
The breezes madder play.
Wherefore, mine eyes, thy silver mists?
Wherefore, O summer’s day?

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

.

click for larger view

Comments on: "Lavender and the Bees" (5)

  1. Nice pics of the bees. I have lavender too and it’s really nice to see the bees. I had been worried about the bees lately, but when I bought my lavender plant they were all over it. Bee’s are beautiful and we need to appreciate them.

  2. Awesome photos.

  3. Great bee photos! I am jealous of your lavender–I can’t seem to keep it alive. Any hints or secrets?

    • roundrockgarden said:

      This is the first one I’ve kept alive! This one has been with us since last May – it stayed outside all winter and I didn’t water it at all. Only after it started to flower and the weather got warmer did I have to start watering it again. I think the trick is to let it dry out between waterings, which is why I’ve left it in a container.

Leave a Reply

