A garden is the best alternative therapy.

The wildflower bed offered up this unique site this morning, and it reminded me of Seymour’s man-eating plant from the Little Shop of Horrors:

I wait with anticipation, what flower is this?*

* actually, this question has been answered by a reader.  it is either a corn or California poppy!

Comments on: "Something out of Little Shop of Horrors" (11)

  1. It’s a Poppy 🙂

  2. That is a strange looking beginning of a bloom. It is fun what you can catch with a photo up-close. That’s like my fern unfurling, which looked very strange, too!

  3. I think I’ve seen that in my yard. The seed head says a lot about its disposition! Oops, maybe not. I just read Liz’s comment. No poppy will grow in my climate! Except Shirley poppies. What do I know? Not much! Still, a very interesting photo.

  4. It does look other worldly doesn’t it? I love detailed photos like this one 🙂

    • roundrockgarden said:

      It does! And thanks, I love taking macro shots. There is so much detail to be seen…

  5. I’ll have to email you a picture of mine… it’s just pushing up but not quite as big as your bud. These poppies are fantastic!

  6. Just discovering your blog! Looking forward to seeing this in bloom as it does look a bit scary at this point!

  7. Looks scary now — but I adore poppies, so I think you’ll soon be enjoying some beauty from an unusual start. 🙂

  8. Defintely alien! But if it’s indeed a poppy, a pretty alien. 🙂

Leave a Reply

