A garden is the best alternative therapy.

Garden Update 10/4/09

I spent yesterday morning planting a lot more seeds for lettuce and spinach.  I’ve lost a couple of bean plants and possibly one of the squash.  If I had thought ahead and planted more seeds in container, I could transplant them.  But I didn’t think ahead and it’s probably too late to do so now.  I’ll just have to hope the other plants make it.  In the meantime, I’m not going to be put in the same situation with the spinach and lettuce.  I’m also doing succession planting on these two veggies, which will require me to continue sowing seeds every three weeks through the fall.

More lettuce seeds started.

More lettuce seeds started.

... and spinach seeds.

... and spinach seeds.

Michelle and I went to HEB yesterday and noticed a “Fall Extravaganza” sale going on in their garden center.  We wandered through and didn’t find much of anything, but we did pick up some flowers and I replanted them in the new planter I threw together.  We bought a lobelia plant, an aster and a snapdragon.  I think the colors go together well. We also picked up a couple of sweet alyssum.

flowers

lobelia

lobelia

aster ... just a few blooms at the moment.

aster ... just a few blooms at the moment.

snapdragons

snapdragons

an uncommon treat on our bush - two hibiscus blooms side-by-side

an uncommon treat on our bush - two hibiscus blooms side-by-side

sweet alyssym

sweet alyssym

I planted four parsley plants at the top of the lettuce bed.  I didn’t have any more room in the herb garden thanks to the basil, sage and oregano.  I didn’t think about it at the time, but the wire I used to divide the planting sections is starting to rust due to all of the rain.  I replaced it with some stainless steel wire.  Since the herb garden has become a little overgrown, I trimmed down the basil today.  I noticed that it hadn’t produced as much this past two weeks, and also notice a number of leaves had been wholly consumed by voracious worms, one of which curled up for a little snooze in its own cocoon.

parsley

basil harvest

basil harvest

worms

And about 100 carrots sprouts have come up this morning due to the rain.  A torrential downpour left some standing water in one end of the box, so we’ll see if some of those sprouts get washed away.  I’ll let them grow awhile and then thin them out to about one every 2″.  Also, the pepper plant has fully rebounded and has a handful of nice peppers growing already and TONS of flowers.

carrot sprouts

carrot sprouts

the beautiful pepper!

the beautiful pepper!

Comments on: "Garden Update 10/4/09" (4)

  1. That is a nice pepper — excellent photo of the basil-eating pests, too, but eep!

    Allright, I need to stop admiring all your hard work and get out there and do some myself…

  2. roundrockgarden said:

    LOL! Those worms made a nice breakfast for the voracious front yard blackbirds.

    Hopefully the rain stays at bay this afternoon for ya – unless you don’t mind working in the rain. I was out there yesterday drilling holes in the carrot bed to allow water to drain out instead of pooling up. I was absolutely drenched, I almost felt like an ACL’er!

  3. I can see we have something in common with collecting odds and ends in which to plant seeds. Those plastic containers make great little greenhouses. After reading about all the seeds you have planted I must be a bit behind on the planting of a fall crop. I did plant garlic last week but with all the rain I am worried they may rot. Your basil looks wonderful. Pesto making?

  4. roundrockgarden said:

    If it doesn’t get sent off to recycling, I try to put it to good use around the house! Those happen to be tubs of baby spinach I’ve reused, and yes, they work pretty good. I had to drill a couple of holes in them, however. I came out the other day and the sprouts were practically floating in a couple inches of water due to the rain.

    You’re not behind on a lot of things. I’m a little ahead on carrots – or, at least, at the beginning of the time to plant. The optimum time to plant them in our area is the middle of October. And spinach and lettuce you can do anytime from now through February.

    If your garlic doesn’t hold up, you’ve got time to replant more of those as well. I use this link to the Aggie Planting Chart for Travis County to help plan out when to plant what.

Leave a Reply

