A garden is the best alternative therapy.

The veggies at two weeks

It’s now been a little over two weeks since planting the squashes, cukes and beans.  We’ve enjoyed a good steady rain for the past two days, which has saturated the ground with much-needed moisture.  We are forecast to continue receiving rain for the next day and a half, finally letting up on Tuesday.  I think the veggies will be more than ready for some sun by then.  They have grown quite a bit over the past few days, and I think the natural watering, combined with cooler weather and overcast skies has contributed to this.  Nevertheless, I would like it to return to some sunny weather for a few days and let everything dry out a bit.   If only I could control the weather …

Here’s a round of pics of the veggies, fifteen days from planting:

Yellow squash (fifteen days from planting)

Yellow squash (fifteen days from planting)

Zucchini (fifteen days from planting)

Zucchini (fifteen days from planting)

Cucumbers (fifteen days from planting)

Cucumbers (fifteen days from planting)

Our rosemary plant has officially died.  It’s been struggling now for the past few weeks.  We planted it in early summer, instead of waiting for fall.  It just couldn’t survive.  I’ll be digging it up when things dry up a bit, then I’m going to expand the hole, fill with a sandy mix of good soil, then try replanting another bush in a few weeks.    I know it will take off in the winter – if I can just get it there.  In the meantime, I did manage to take several cuttings of the healthy parts of the plant before it died.  I lost a couple of those, but have five starter pots of cuttings hopefully growing happy roots as I write this.  If they root, I’ll replant them all in a larger pot and grow those on the side as well.  Can’t have too much rosemary – we use that stuff like crazy!

Rosemary cuttings

Rosemary cuttings

The lavender plant got a good dosing of rain yesterday and it has greened up quite a bit.  It quit flowering in late June, but it still smells good.

the lavender ...

the lavender ...

To show you how prolific mint plants are, take a look at this picture below.  I took some stems of my spearmint plant, cut them into two inch pieces, then dropped them in a jar of water for a month.  I didn’t think they were going to root for the longest time, then it exploded.  Just look at the roots – and the young stems and leaves sprouting up out of the water.   I didn’t really have a plan for these, but I’ll probably get a larger pot and bury these under the soil and let them really take off.   With mints, all you ever need is one healthy plant and you can make a hundred more.  Or, if you plant it in the ground, it will spread like crazy (with the right conditions).

Spearmint stems, still wanting to live!

Spearmint stems, still wanting to live!

I’ve got a marauding band of small green worms, which have been moving between the basil, marjoram, oregano, sage and thyme.  Yeah, they have a wide range of culinary interests.  I got down on my hands and knees for a good fifteen minutes today, trying to find them all.  As I was searching, I happened upon this little guy among the basil – hopefully, he’s helping clear some of them away, too.  Not one to let wildlife feel unwelcome, I picked up the little guy, took a few shots, and let him go, hopping through the thyme.  He was the smallest anole I think I’ve ever seen here in Texas!

Baby lizard among the basil

Baby green anole lizard among the basil

"Uh, let me go!"

"Uh, let me go!"

Comments on: "The veggies at two weeks" (6)

  1. nice post. you are growing some delicious veggies and herbs. thanks for sharing with us.i would love to see squash flowers/fruit.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      thanks for reading. you can bet that i’ll be updating with flower pics as soon as i can! in the meantime, i’m going to the nursery this weekend to buy some flowers to put around the squashes and cukes to help with pollinating. if all goes well, i’ll have some good pics for you in a few more weeks!

  2. Yay, another garden blogger in the Austin area! Wasn’t the rain last week wonderfully rejuvenating? Your garden looks wonderful — I love your herb garden! Your zucchini are on par with mine — right about the same size.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Happy to join the ranks!

      Yes, the rain was divine. I could hear the earth and plants sucking it up like a kid slurping through a straw! No, seriously! 🙂

      Thanks, Meredith. Your site is very nice. I bookmarked you so that I can check back and hopefully get some pointers. I’m new to all of this, but I thought that I’ve always had a green thumb, too. Most of all, I find gardening relaxing. I truly enjoy being outside and helping the few little plants I have grow. I like my hands in the dirt and my feet in the grass!

      Check back with me in a few weeks – I hope to have some more pics of “the babies” as they grow, flower and fruit!

  3. Alright11, a new garden and a new blog are born. My best to ya. Always great to see another southern gardener in the mix.
    Scott

    • roundrockgarden said:

      wow, scott – the keys are home to a host of beautiful and interesting varieties of plants and flowers! i must say, i am a little jealous of the “breezy” lifestyle you enjoy down there! thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

