A garden is the best alternative therapy.

From Left: Blue Lake Bush Beans, Red Sails Lettuce, Calabrese Broccoli, Buttercruch Lettuce, Straight Eight Cucumbers and Bloomsdale Spinach

From Left: Blue Lake Bush Beans, Red Sails Lettuce, Calabrese Broccoli, Buttercruch Lettuce, Straight Eight Cucumbers and Bloomsdale Spinach

We decided to plant a fall garden this year.   I was frustrated with how the tomatoes and peppers turned out because of the heat and drought, but I  enjoyed the herb garden so much that I knew I wanted to try my “thumb” at an even larger garden.  Spending time with the plants has developed into a fun hobby.  It is relaxing and rewarding – at least, I hope to reap the rewards of the work at a later date!

After doing some research over the summer (trying to figure out how to help my peppers and tomatoes!), I discovered that fall is the best time of year to plant a vegetable garden in Texas.  I read that most varieties of vegetables that can be planted in the spring can also be planted in the fall.  In the fall, however, the vegetables enjoy cooling weather and a longer season than the short springs we experience in Texas.   I thought I could vindicate myself by trying a garden for real this time.   So, while I’m not going to try tomatoes this round, I have decided to grow the following:

First Planting:

Heirloom Yellow Crookneck Squash*

Black Beauty Zucchini*

Blue Lake Bush Beans*

Straight Eight Cucumbers*

* Certified Organic seeds from Seeds of Change

I’m going to keep the bell peppers going as long as I can.  August is the typical time for planting pepper transplants for fall.  I’m hoping that my already established plant will be able to perform for another season.

.

Second Planting:

Red Sail Lettuce*

Bloomsdale Spinach*

Heirloom Calabrese Broccoli*

Cosmo Savoy Lettuce*

Buttercruch Lettuce*

* Certified Organic seeds from Seeds of Change

.

as well as:

Danvers Half Long Carrots

and Big Top Carrots from Burpee.

.

From the left: Big Top Carrots, Black Beauty Zucchini, Yellow Crookneck Squash, Cosmo Savoy Lettuce, Straight Eight Cucumbers and Danvers Half Long Carrots

From the left: Big Top Carrots, Black Beauty Zucchini, Yellow Crookneck Squash, Cosmo Savoy Lettuce, Straight Eight Cucumbers and Danvers Half Long Carrots

.

After deciding what we want to plant, we found a good chart for local planting dates and made plans for site selection, preparation and planting.

More to follow…

Leave a Reply

