A garden is the best alternative therapy.

A Year of Change

It was just over a year ago that my wife and I decided to start a little garden.  It started with a strawberry plant that we killed after enjoying a mere handful of berries.  I’m glad that didn’t discourage us and we decided to keep adding more and more plants.

At first it mostly centered around vegetables, but my wife wanted flowers, too, so we added hibiscus, gardenia and lavender.  Then we added cuphea, lantana and lobelia.  By the end of the summer, I had caught full-blown gardening fever.

I built a few more beds and went to work planting a fall garden.  Half of those plants didn’t make it, but I kept going.  I planted a bunch of colder weather vegetables like lettuce, broccoli and spinach.  They did outstanding and really started producing once the coldest part of winter was over.

Then we realized that we didn’t want to just grow vegetables.  We wanted to do some landscaping and enjoy the back yard a bit more.  The back yard was a completely empty palette before we started work on our projects.  Now, just months later, I’m happy with the results.

Am I done planting?  Not on your life!  We’re going to continue to expand the garden and beautify our back yard.  We want to give back to nature.  So, we’re doing it all organic, and growing native plants that beneficial insects love.  Stick around another year, we’ll have a lot more to show for it!

The side yard before any garden beds or butterfly garden

The back yard before any work was done - just a lonely strawberry plant

Back yard now

Now I just need to get some furniture.  The small makeshift bench has served a purpose, but I never intended to keep it so long.  I want a couple of nice benches, a couple of bird baths, and some little items of interest.

Comments on: "A Year of Change" (14)

  1. Just amazing what a year can do and the lessons that are learned along the way. The yard looks amazing, I had to smile at the lonley strawberry plant (you know it was praying that all the pests did not find it and take over). Your work is inspiring me. I am planning (my husband knows, but can’t belive it) that I want to remove the sod from the sides of the house and put in flower beds to bring in butterflies and birds. Not looking forward to the hard work, but surely looking to the reward at the end. Keep up the good work.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Cynthia, thank you so much for the encouragement! I’m glad that I can pass on some inspiration because I’ve gotten so much from so many different sources. Funny, I bet that strawberry plant WAS thinking, “Oh crap!” as all the backyard pests turned their antennas towards it! LOL!

      It has been a lot of hard work, no doubt, but I’m very happy with the results. I even get a little down time to enjoy it here and there! Tell your husband you have a plan and a spade, and to get work pulling up that sod! :)

  2. lookin great, keep up the good work.

  3. roundrockgarden said:

    Thank you, Sunny! I still love those stone chairs you blogged about awhile back. Wish I could incorporate something like those into the garden!

  4. You should be proud of all your work. I think you are hooked!

  5. Morgan L said:

    Your garden looks GREAT! Its very inspiring. I just started on our yard about a year ago and found, like you, that the effort made me a happier human being all around. I hope you keep posting updates. I’m in Round Rock too. We just moved here and I’m still getting used to the weather. I’ll be checking back to your blog hoping for tips and pointers. I love the stepping stones with the plants growing in between! Make me want to try something similar. here is a link to my Blog in case you are interested (its about a variety of subjects but gardening is one of the main ones).

    http://conversationswithbrain.blogspot.com/

    Such a beautiful garden you have! Keep up the good work and pretty photos!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks for the kind comment, Morgan. I checked out your blog and am anxious to see more of your progress. It is definitely challenging growing things in this climate, but so fun! I’m glad you are finding yourself a happier human being through gardening … I second that emotion!

  6. Bob Pool said:

    WOW, you’ve come a long way in a year. It looks great as well. Any one who gardens knows just how much work was performed to have what you have today over what you started with. If you decide in the future to do a water garden please let me know. I’m not far from you and have plenty of fish and lots of different plants you can have.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks for the nice comment and the offer, Bob! It has been back-breaking work at times, but I hardly noticed it with all the fun I was having! I can’t wait to do more!

  7. Wow! I stumbled across your site as I did a search for “broccoli gardening” because I’ve just planted broccoli. What an inspiration you are to use beginners! Very impressive…look forward to snooping around this blog more.

    Thanks!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thank you! I love the idea behind your blog! We honestly try to eat in 95% of the time. There is a rare occasion that we eat out (like when we were traveling on vacation), but, for the most part, we prepare most of the food we eat from as many whole, organic foods as we can. It’s hard at times. It is definitely a lifestyle choice – you can’t just run and grab a bite with friends… But we believe in the sayings, “Your body is your temple” and “Garbage in, garbage out!” As such, we offer only the best foods we can find on the altar of our temple. I’d love to chat with you more about food in the future!

  8. Wow, I’m impressed. What an amazing transformation your yard has had in one year!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Well Meredith, you were an inspiration to me! I’m happy with where the yard is going, but it is by no means a completed project!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

