A garden is the best alternative therapy.

It’s time to officially call the ball.   Our last frost came and went just a couple of days ago and winter is no more!   For those of you out there wondering, is it now safe to plant – well, you’re okay planting just about everything but peppers and tomatoes (I’d wait until after the first couple weeks of April to let the soil warm up for those).  I planted eight bean transplants last week and although they got a little rough around the edges due to the last frost, they actually all survived but one.  It succumbed to the gale force winds that whipped through here.   But I have eight more seeds in the ground and my sunflower seeds have almost all sprouted as well.

Actually, the weather forecast for the remainder of the month looks absolutely beautiful: sunny and warm with cool nights.

To me, this means I have some harvesting of cold weather crops to do.  I’ve got to make some room for squash, zucchini and cucumbers and that means that the spinach (of which there is now a ton!) will have to be harvested.  I plan on eating some fresh, but I also want to take the extra, chop it, blanch it and then freeze it for later use.  The lettuce heads in the second bed are mostly ready to harvest as well, but I think I can leave a few as my squash seedlings get established in their new bed.  Lettuce roots are very shallow, so I’m not worried about competition.

And, I couldn’t ask for more beautiful weather to work in the yard this weekend.  I really want to get the native beds filled with dirt and work on getting the transplants in.  I’ll probably have to wait a couple of weeks to let the soil settle and give it a couple shots of compost tea to get the microbes, bacteria and fungi going as well.

Here’s to Spring!

Comments on: "On your mark, Get Ready, Get Set, … PLANT!" (10)

  1. Its fun to be able to play with dirt, sow and reap beauties… ~bangchik

  2. From your forecast, it looks as if you could spare 5 degrees for us up here in the north country. Send ‘em on up!

    Christine in Alaska

  3. Hi Joseph! Congratulations on your official start of the planting season! What compost do you use to make a compost tea – from your compost pile, store-bought, composted manure? I have well rotten horse/chicken manure and compost from my composter. Do you think their mix will be a good one to use?
    Thanks for your comment on my “Playing with March blooms” post. Answering your question about my pictures – I don’t have Photoshop. I use Picasa.
    Happy Planting Season!

    • roundrockgarden said:

      I hadn’t heard of Picasa until just now, would you believe it? AND it’s free…I’ll have to check it out!

      I left a comment on your “Awakening” entry on your blog regarding the compost. I’d make sure the manure is well-composted before using it for tea. Manure has a very high nitrogen content before it’s composted, which may end up burning the plants if it used as a foliar spray.

  4. Wow! 78 degrees next week…that is very exciting to a gardener. We are at the point where everything should have been planted by last week. Of course, I am running late as usual and will be happy to get them all in the ground by this weekend :-)

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Well, a week isn’t so bad at all! Is your Spring really short like ours? We really only have a couple of months and we’re in the 90′s until November!

  5. I am so envious of your spinach. I never have success with it. In fact this years’ winter garden has been a disaster. Please share your secrets. I am hoping for better things out there this summer. Planted a couple of tomatoes today. Hope I won’t be sorry. Good luck with your summer garden.

    • roundrockgarden said:

      Thanks, Jenny. Since this was my first year growing spinach, I will consider myself lucky – or I’m doing something right! Truth be told, I didn’t know if they were going to do anything for the longest time. Most of these plants were transplanted last fall and they rode through the winter before they started to produce. I did spray them regularly with fish emulsion, but also gave them some organic blood meal (12-0-0) in late January, which seemed to get them going good with the nitrogen they needed. Oh, and I mulch every month or so with straight compost. Spinach just seems to take a really long time to start doing what you want it to – maybe that’s the variety I’m growing (Bloomsdale), and perhaps other types producing smaller leaves may mature faster. I’m going to try another variety in addition to the Bloomsdale this fall. Good luck to you, too!

  6. Not quite that safe here yet. The winds are chill today, and I’m not risking the beans yet. ;) But it is so exciting to hear you “call the ball.” Kind of revs me up for our own official frost-free date, just around the corner!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

